I remember waiting outside my elementary library, giddy with anticipation, for my grade’s turn to enter the Scholastic book fair.  As I stood in line, while the grade below my class filed out, I consulted my catalog one last time.  Though by this time I’d flipped through the thin sheets so many times, I could tell you with precise accuracy the titles on each page.  Still, I’d have some tough decisions once I was finally allowed entry into the book fair, so I needed to be sure of my wish list.  With an allowance of $10 to spend as I saw fit, the vast amount of books available made it nearly impossible for my younger self to decide what titles would make the cut.  I’d faced this dilemma every year prior, for as long as I could remember, so by the fifth grade I was a pro.  If it would only be my classes turn, I’d make swift work of whittling down my never-ending wish list.

In a time before E-books, Amazon, and the world-wide-web (or at least a time before I had 24/7 access to it) there was the Scholastic book fair.  A place, where once a year books came to me, and at a price I could actually afford.  So now that kids (and parents) are “plugged-in” to the information superhighway all day every day, and Amazon offers a variety of books on demand (with prices even my fifth grade allowance could afford) is there still a place for Scholastic book fairs?

In short, yes.  Scholastic released the Scholastic App (and its e-reading companion Storia) to keep kids and parents connected to their book fairs.  With their free mobile app scholastic has ensured their book fairs are no longer confined to elementary school libraries.  Their app, like their catalog, allows children to search out books of interest, and create wish lists.  Unlike its pre-tech counterpart, the app gives children and parent’s exclusive content such as, “free podcasts and author interviews, as well as ‘book talks,’ which feature children providing peer reviews of favorite books.” (Scholastic)  Children and their parents can access tons of free content, experience complete personalization, and navigate the book fair in the user-friendly “point and click” format we’ve all become accustom to.

Posted by: Shaylee Smith

For more information read the full press release here:  http://mediaroom.scholastic.com/press-release/new-free-scholastic-book-fairs-app-helps-parents-find-right-childrens-book-snap-0

Works Cited

Scholastic,. NEW, FREE SCHOLASTIC BOOK FAIRS APP HELPS PARENTS FIND THE RIGHT CHILDREN’s BOOK IN A SNAP. 2013. Web. 8 Sept. 2016.

 

